The Bookshelf, Young Texas Reader, Blog Notes, & Texana Youtube Channel

The Texas Bookshelf is for single, specific books' reviews and author interviews . The Texas Parlor ranges more broadly than my other websites. The Young Texas Reader focuses on the youngest through teenagers. Texas Blog Notes surveys blogs of historical and literary interest. I've started a Will's Texana Youtube collecting channel where 1,000 videos are collected in 100 playlists . Find Will in Houston or at willstexana {at} yahoodotcom

Friday, August 22, 2008

TIL award categories for publication year of 2007

TIL AWARDS FOR 2008 for the Publication Year of 2007
From this OLD press release, folks can generally expect the same categories for the current year's crop of books.  At this url you can find the folks who are on the various committees for the just past judging year, and the new deadline would of course be in January 2009 for the coming year's awards.  Please consult TIL for current information for books in the publication year of 2008.
The press release for the past year read:
The Texas Institute of Letters has issued its call for entries for the best works published in 2007 in twelve categories. Prizes totaling $22,000 will be awarded by the organization at its 2008 annual meeting.
Deadline for entries is January 16, 2008.
Entries must be sent directly to the judges at the addresses listed below. Entries must be accompanied by a statement of the entrant's eligibility: birth in Texas or two years consecutive residence in the state at some time. A work whose subject matter substantially concerns Texas is also eligible.
Categories and judges are as follows:
Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Nonfiction ($5,000):
Felix Almaraz, chair, 323 Inspiration Dr., San Antonio, TX 78228
Kerry Grombacker, 812 N. Carrollton Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119
Robert Weddle, 1181 County Road 1535, Bonham, TX 75418.
Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction ($6,000) and Steven Turner Award for Best
Work of First Fiction ($1,000):
Robert Flynn, chair, 101 Cliffside Dr., San Antonio, TX 78231
David Searcy, 5606 Boca Raton Dr., Dallas, TX 75230
Cindy Bonner, 1802 N. Vine St., Victoria, TX 78746.
TIL Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book ($2,500):
Andres Tijerina, chair, Austin Community College, Pinnacle Campus, 7748 Hwy. 290 W., Austin, TX 78736-3202
Ron Tyler, 5536 Collinwood Ave., Fort Worth, TX 76107.
Pete Gunter, 225 Jagoe, Denton, TX 76201
Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry ($1,000):
Wendy Barker, chair, 302 Fawn Dr., San Antonio, TX 78231-1519
Willard Spigelman, English Dept., Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX 75275
Chris Ellery, 2661 Yale Ave, San Angelo, TX 76904.
Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book ($1,000): This award will not be given until 2009 for books published in 2007 and 2008.
Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story ($750):
Neal Barret Jr., 2102 Toulouse Dr., Austin, TX 78748
Kate Lehrer, 3556 Macomb NW, Washington, D.C. 20016
Charles (Chip) Dameron, 4853 Lakeway Dr., Brownsville, TX 78520.
O. Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism ($1,000):
Mike Cox, chair, 3301 Big Bend Dr., Austin, TX 78731
A.W. (Bill) Gray, 9654 Fallbrook Dr., Dallas, TX 75243
Bill Sloan, 3603 Urban Ave, Dallas, TX 75227.
Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Children's Book ($500) and for Best
Young Adult Book ($500):
Prudence Mackintosh, chair, 3312 Beverly Dr., Dallas, TX 75205
Paula Marks, 104 Vireo Dr., Buda, TX 78610
Tim Tingle, 4417 Morningside Way, Canyon Lake, TX 78133.
Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book ($750):
Carol Dawson, chair, 4010 Crescent Dr., Austin, TX 78722
Tom Dodge, 302 Stiles Dr., Midlothian, TX 76065
Jim Hornfischer, 2528 Tanglewood Tr., Austin, TX 78703
John Bloom Humor Award for the Funniest Texas Book ($1,000) (for books published in 2006
and 2007):
Tom Pilkington, chair, Tarleton State University, P.O. Box T-0300, Stephenville, TX 76402
John Taliaferro, 1113 Elm St., Austin, TX 78703
Fritz Lanham, P.O. Box 801182, Houston, TX 77280.
Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or
Sunday Supplement ($1,000):
Dick J. Reavis, chair, 3606 Clark Ave., Raleigh, NC 27607
Kent Biffle, 511 Carriage Trail, Rockwall, TX 75087
Glenn Dromgoole, 1833 S. 11th St., Abilene, TX 79602.

No comments: