The Bookshelf, Young Texas Reader, Blog Notes, & Texana Youtube Channel

The Texas Bookshelf is for single, specific books' reviews and author interviews . The Texas Parlor ranges more broadly than my other websites. The Young Texas Reader focuses on the youngest through teenagers. Texas Blog Notes surveys blogs of historical and literary interest. I've started a Will's Texana Youtube collecting channel where 1,000 videos are collected in 100 playlists . Find Will in Houston or at willstexana {at} yahoodotcom

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Heisman Trophy Longhorn History

Earl Campbell (1977) and Ricky Williams (1998) won the Heisman Trophy in college footabll as University of Texas Longhorns.  But can you name Longhorn also-rans.  Well here's a list.
1947 Bobby Layne, Sixth-Place
1961 James Saxton, Third-Place
1963 Scott Appleton, Fifth-Place
1970 Steve Worster, Fourth-Place
1973 Roosevelt Leaks, Third-Place
(Yes, a drought for three decades, except for Campbell and Williams as winners)
2004 Cedric Benson Sixth-Place
2005 Vince Young: Second Place
2008 Colt McCoy, Second-Place
2009 Colt McCoy, Third Place
Read the story behind each at the Bleacher Report, a UT Football newsletter

1 comment:

Maroussia said...

It will be great to watch Texas Longhorns, i have bought tickets from looking forward to it.